2020 Elections: Sissala East votes ‘skirt and blouse’; NPP retains Parliamentary seat, NDC captures Presidential

Sissala East MP-elect, Hon. Issahaku Amidu Chinnia (left) and John Mahama (right)

The Sissala East Constituency has, in the 2020 presidential and parliamentary elections, voted skirt and blouse – voting for the NPP Parliamentary Candidate, Hon. Issahaku Amidu Chinnia as the Member of Parliament – elect while voting massively for opposition NDC flagbearer, John Mahama for President.

Following the declaration of the certified parliamentary results for the Sissala East Constituency, Hon. Issahaku Amidu Chinnia was declared the Member of Parliament – elect for the Constituency and John Dramani Mahama led with about 2,129 votes over his closest NPP contender, Nana Akufo-Addo.

To this end, the MP-elect has been able to retain the seat for the NPP after the party, with the current Member of Parliament, Hon. Ridwan Abass Dawuda wrestled power, for the first time in the Constituency, from the NDC in the 2016 general elections.

The victor’s declaration was made at around 7:40 am on Tuesday, December 8, 2020, at the Sissala East Municipal Assembly Hall by the Electoral Commission’s Sissala East Returning Officer, Mr. Mohammed Lulua.

The Sissala East 2020 Presidential and Parliamentary elections results are as follows:


Issahaku Amidu Chinnia (NPP) – 12,932

Mohammed Issah Bataglia (NDC) – 12,060

Jaasu Abdul-Baari (GCPP) – 620

Lawyer Kingsley Kanton (PNC) – 9,129

Total valid votes – 34,741

Total number of rejected ballots – 1,071

Total votes cast – 35,812


EC Certified results for the Presidential elections

NPP – 14,750

NDC – 16,879

GUM – 187

CPP – 59

GFP – 29

GCPP – 27

APC – 57

LPG – 98

PNC – 1,698

PPP – 21

NDP – 27

IND. – 136

Total valid votes – 33,968

Total number of rejected ballots – 1,880

Total votes cast – 36,848

Araphat Dimah

Araphat is a broadcaster, reporter, news anchor and producer. He likes browsing and exploring, debating and listening to music.

Leave a Reply